< Main news page

2015 AC Progressive Doubles Tournament. Middlesbrough.

[11th September 2015; Reporter: Charles Waterfield]

Eight (only) competitors, from Belsay, M’bro and Auckland, came to take part in the annual Croquet North AC Progressive Doubles in fine late summer sunshine. Entries were surprisingly few this year, but thanks go to Phil and David (both from Belsay) for having agreed to make up a sensible field of eight.

We used alternate-stroke 14‑point handicap doubles, with competitors divided into two blocks of four; the lower handicap block ranged from 0.5 - 9 and the higher block 11 - 20. Handicap differences between pairs were simply divided by four.

All players accrued hoop (and match) points from their various partnerships, the more important being hoop points. Four rounds were played to strict 75 min time-limits, although none of the matches pegged out! There also were no score-draws.

Block winners were Eugene (Block A) and Mike (Block B), who both received a liquid prize.

Block A

Phil ErringtonBelsay0.5251
David MillenerBelsay6323
David TurnerBelsay8221
Eugene BradyAuckland9353

Block B

Mike AkesterMiddlesbrough11332
Nigel RobertsMiddlesbrough12272
Arthur OgdenMiddlesbrough18302
Sylvia MacCallumMiddlesbrough20292